17th Annual Fred Friendly First Amendment Award- 2010 Honoree: Gwen Ifill





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.



Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Jun 18, 2010

On June 14, 2010, Quinnipiac University held the 17th Annual Fred Friendly First Amendment Award Luncheon. This year's honoree was Gwen Ifill, moderator and managing editor of the Peabody Award-winning PBS program, "Washington Week," and senior correspondent for the "PBS NewsHour".

Past award recipients include Peter Jennings, Ted Koppel, Tim Russert, Morley Safer, Lesley Stahl and Ifill's colleague, Jim Lehrer.

The award acknowledges one of the most basic constitutional rights and honors those who have shown courage and forthrightness in preserving that right. The award is named in honor of the late Friendly, a broadcast journalist whose work expressed his lifelong commitment to freedom of speech and strong democratic institutions. Friendly was a reporter, producer, former CBS News president and professor at the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...