Phnom Pehn, Saigon, and Bangkok Travel Doc - Part 05





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.



Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Oct 17, 2008

Cities of the World
- Phnom Pehn
- Saigon (Ho Chi Minh City)
- Bangkok

Phnom Penh (Khmer: official Romanization: Phnum Pénh; pronounced [pʰnum pɯɲ]) is the capital and largest city of Cambodia. It is also the capital of the Phnom Penh municipality. It is an economic, industrial, commercial, cultural, tourist and historical center. Once known as the "Pearl of Asia" in the 1920s, Phnom Penh, along with Siem Reap, is a significant global and domestic tourist destination for Cambodia. Phnom Penh is known for its traditional Khmer and French influenced architecture. Phnom Penh is the wealthiest and most populous city in Cambodia. It is also the commercial, political and cultural hub of Cambodia and is home to more than one million of Cambodia's population of over 14 million.

Ho Chi Minh City (Vietnamese: Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh pronunciation (help·info) ) is the largest city in Vietnam. Under the name Saigon (Vietnamese: Sài Gòn; pronunciation (help·info)), it served as the capital of the independent state of South Vietnam from 1954 to 1975. In 1975, Saigon merged with the surrounding province of Gia Định and renamed Hồ Chí Minh City (although the name Sài Gòn is still commonly used.) The city center is situated on the banks of the Saigon River, 60 kilometers (37 mi) from the South China Sea and 1,760 kilometers (1,094 mi) south of Hanoi, the capital of Vietnam.

Bangkok, known in Thai as Krung Thep Maha Nakhon (pronounced [krūŋtʰêːp máhǎːnákʰɔn], กรุงเทพมหานคร (help·info)) or Krung Thep (กรุงเทพฯ (help·info)) for short, is the capital, largest urban area and primate city of Thailand. It was a small trading post at the mouth of the Chao Phraya River during the Ayutthaya Kingdom and came to the forefront of Thailand when it was given the status as the capital city in 1768 after the burning of Ayuthaya. However, the current Rattanakosin Kingdom didn't begin until 1782 when the capital was moved across the river after being sacked by the Burmese. The Rattanakosin capital is now more formally called "Phra Nakorn", pertaining to the ancient boundaries in the metropolis' core and the name Bangkok now incorporates the urban build-up since the 18th century which has its own public administration and governor.

bbtv broadbandtv phnom penh saigon ho chi min city bangkok cambodia vietnam china saigon river thailand tourism tourist travel destinations vacation asia khmer french france vietnamese thai krung thep maha nakhon global city chinese indian buddhist muslim


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...