Haydn/Skowronek, 8 Mechanical Organ Pieces, 1772 and 1792, Soni Ventorum




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Oct 31, 2016

A performance of eight of Joseph Haydn's pieces for the mechanical organ (or "flute clock") dating from 1772 and 1792, arranged for wind quartet by Felix Skowronek.


Q: For what instrument were these pieces originally written?
A: "Flötenuhr" (flute clock) referred to any assemblage of small organ pipes with bellows, driven by clockwork mechanism and controlled by pins on a cylinder, i. e. music boxes playing miniature organs. They were particularly popular in Vienna in the late 18th Century. Mozart, Beethoven, Haydn and many other notable composers were commissioned to write small pieces for various machines. Here's an example of a machine of this type: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OxOzo...

Q: Who are the players?
A: They are members of Soni Ventorum: Felix Skowronek, flute; Laila Storch, oboe; William McColl, clarinet and Arthur Grossman, bassoon.

Q: When did this performance take place?
A: In 1979.

Q: Where can one find recordings of this group?
A: Here: http://soniventorum.com/soniventorum_...


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...