Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: String Quintet no. 4 in G minor K. 516




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Sep 17, 2016

I. Allegro II. Menuetto: Allegretto III. Adagio ma non troppo IV. Adagio - Allegro

Mozart’s G minor quintet was written in May 1787, around the time when he was writing his opera Don Giovanni. It certainly partakes of much of the tempestuous melancholy which infuses that equivocal dramma giocoso. Like the D major quintet (and the G minor Symphony no. 40) it anticipates the emotional intensity which is associated with romantic music of the next century. The introduction to the last movement continues the tragic mood which the high spirits of the following Allegro does not entirely dissipate.

The Kodaly Quartet is joined by Avishai Chaimedes (2nd viola) in this fine account at the 2016 Indian Summer in Levoca Festival. Concert given with the support of the Hungarian Institute in Bratislava.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...