GEORGE WALKER: Violin Concerto (2008) - Movement III




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Feb 21, 2010

Often described as "The Dean of African-American composers," George Walker (1922- ) was also the first African-American to win the Pulitzer Prize for Music in 1996 for his song-cycle "Lilacs".
He began his career as a virtuoso solo pianist, but has composed more than 90 works in many genres. He first came to attention in 1946 for "Lyric for Strings," and his Trombone Concerto is considered a modern classic.
The Violin Concerto (2008) was written for the composer's son, Gregory Walker, who here performs the 3rd (and Final) movement. The Sinfonia Varsovia of Poland is conducted by Ian Hobson, on a new Albany Records release, TROY1178, volume 2 in a series devoted to the composer's orchestral works.

  • Category

  • Song

  • Artist

    • Sinfonia Varsovia, Ian Hobson
  • Album

    • George Walker: Great American Orchestral Music, Vol. 2
  • Licensed to YouTube by

    • The Orchard Music (on behalf of Albany Records)


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...