Travis : Something Anything




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Aug 12, 2008

Travis "Something Anything" released 15th September 2008 through Red Telephone Box


Having scored a No. 1 on the indie singles chart with their limited edition EP J Smith, Travis announce the release of a new single - Something Anything - on Sept 15th.

Landing someplace between the breakthrough stomp of Good Feeling and garage band overdrive of All I Want To Do Is Rock, the tough beat led grooves and guitar licks of Something Anything are indicative of Travis's forthcoming album Ode To J Smith -- the first to be written on electric guitar since their debut, and due for release in September on Travis's own label Red Telephone Box.

Something Anything is available on 7", CD single and as a download. Additional tracks include Travis's cover of The Kinks classic Lola and two new songs all unavailable elsewhere.

Teaming up once more with Michael Baldwin -- who directed all the videos for The Boy With No Name -- Travis take Andy Dunlop's driving guitar riff as the centre piece for a video that sees a 10ft tall Andy tearing into a solo that leaves the rest of the band suitably awestruck.

Travis have been showcasing songs from Ode To J Smith at selective festival and club dates across Europe and most recently the Far East. A full UK tour has been lined up for the autumn coinciding with the album's release.

Tickets are available from 9am on Friday, August 1st through http://www.gigsandtours.com
or the 24 hour CC line on 0871 2200 260.

Full tour dates as follows:
SEPTEMBER : 22nd, INVERNESS, Ironworks; 23rd, ABERDEEN, MUSIC HALL: 25TH, EDINBURGH, Picture House; 28th, MANCHESTER, The Ritz; 29th, LIVERPOOL, Academy; 30TH, WOLVERHAMPTON, Wulfrun Hall; OCTOBER : 2nd, NEWCASTLE, University; 3rd, NORWICH, UEA; 4th, PORTSMOUTH, Pyramids Centre;
6TH, BATH, Pavillion; 7th, SHEFFIELD, Leadmill; 8TH, LONDON, Astoria.

Ode To J Smith is Travis's loudest, edgiest and most arresting record since their debut. Written in 5 weeks and recorded in just 14 days, it's the sound of a band re-born, re-inspired and re-energised. Says bassist Dougie Payne, "we wanted this record to have some rough edges. In the past we might have been guilty of making really beautiful things that were so smooth you almost slipped off them. You can't say that about this one. We really pushed ourselves. It's like prog-pop; lots happening in about three minutes".

  • Category

  • Song

    • Something Anything
  • Artist

  • Album

    • Ode To J Smith
  • Licensed to YouTube by

    • [Merlin] PIAS (on behalf of [PIAS] Cooperative); LatinAutor, Sony ATV Publishing, CMRRA, SOLAR Music Rights Management, LatinAutor - SonyATV, UNIAO BRASILEIRA DE EDITORAS DE MUSICA - UBEM, and 2 Music Rights Societies


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...