Toronto Transit Commission - YongeUniversitySpadina





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Mar 21, 2010

The Toronto Transit Commission (TTC) is a public transport authority that operates buses, streetcars, subways, and rapid transit lines in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Established in 1954, the TTC has grown to comprise three subway lines and an elevated rapid transit line with a total of 69 stations, as well as 149 connecting surface routes (buses and streetcars) of which 148 routes make 243 connections with a subway or rapid transit station during weekday rush hours.

The TTC operates the third most heavily-used urban mass transit system in North America (after the New York City Transit Authority and the Mexico City Metro)] In 2008, the TTC carried 1.5 million passengers per day, and there were 466,700,000 passenger trips in total. The average daily ridership exceeds 2.45 million passengers: 1,232,300 through bus, 276,000 by streetcar, 35,600 by intermediate rail (RT), and 906,800 by subway.

The YongeUniversitySpadina Line (officially Route 1 YongeUniversitySpadina Subway[2]) is the oldest and busiest subway line in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. It is operated by the Toronto Transit Commission, has 32 stations and is 30.2 km (18.8 miles) in length. It opened in 1954, and had extensions completed in 1963, 1973, 1974, 1978, and 1996. North York Centre station opened on an existing section of line in 1987.

The line's name has changed as it was extended. It was simply called the subway (Yonge subway is its retronym) until 1963, then the Yonge-University Line until 1978, when the Spadina section was added. Briefly in 1966, the Yonge-University subway ran in two branches: one west along Bloor to Keele (Yonge-University-Bloor), the other east along Bloor and Danforth to Woodbine (Yonge-University-Danforth).

Although only two stations are actually on Spadina Road, a larger portion of the line was originally planned to follow the Spadina Expressway. The part of the expressway that was actually built was renamed William R. Allen Road, but the name of the line was never adjusted. It is also numbered as Route 1 (formerly route 602),[3] but its route number is used by the TTC predominantly for internal purposes and is rarely used by the public or on TTC maps.

The subway runs from approximately 6:00 a.m. to 1:30 a.m. Monday to Saturday and 9:00 a.m. to 1:30 a.m. on Sunday. The subway runs every 45 minutes, with frequent service (23 minutes) during rush hour periods. There is limited service (5 minutes) northbound from St. Clair West station from 6:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. Monday to Friday.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up Next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...