Anthony L. Sanchez--Somatognosis (2012-13)




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Apr 14, 2013

I. Hearing
II. Sight
III. Touch
IV, Smell
V. Taste

Mamie Small, Flute
Jody Deliguori, Electric Keyboard
Leland Lyle and Aaron Jennings, Percussion
Freddy Sanchez, Mixed Media

Program Notes:

As the movements of this work suggest, this collaborative project (conceived during the summer of 2012) attempts to explore the Five Senses through the incorporation of musical and visual and interactive elements. This cyclical work is intended to provide more of an abstract representation of these senses rather than a literal depiction. Although the music coincides with the visuals, I had actually composed the score beforehand.

The music, which coincides with the interactive elements (such as darkness, blurred vision, murky textures, and food) includes plethora of timbral and percussive effects. The single motes in the flute (performed here) in Hearing depict tinnitus: ringing in the ears. Other effects, such as tone clusters in the electric keyboard, the ringing of tubular bells, scratches on the guiro or brushes on the drum set, serve to provide motion and intriguing sounds in Sight, Touch, Smell, and Taste.


to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...