Antonín Dvořák: Stabat Mater IV (Talich cond.)





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Mar 24, 2009

Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
Stabat Mater, Cantata for Soloists, Choir and Orchestra
op. 58 (B 71, 1876-77)

Drahomíra Tikalová, soprano
Marta Krásová, contralto
Beno Blachut, tenor
Karel Kalaš, bass
Prague Philharmonic Choir
Jan Kühn, choirmaster
Czech Philharmonic Orchestra
Václav Talich, conductor

IV. Basso solo, Coro. Largo (Fac, ut ardeat cor meum)

Fac, ut ardeat cor meum,
In amando Christum Deum,
Ut sibi complaceam.
Sancta Mater, istud agas,
Crucifixi fige plagas,
Cordi meo valide.
Grant that my heart may burn
In loving Christ the God
That I may greatly please Him
Holy Mother grant me
That the wounds of the crucified
Drive deep in my heart

Karel Kalaš (1910-2001)

A soloist of the National Opera in the years 1939-1972 who was a trained book printer and studied voice in Vienna under the tenor F.Pagina. Thanks to the conductor Karel Nedbal he made his debut in Bratislava (1934), but only five years later he received an offer from Václav Talich to Prague. Overshadowed by renowned basses, he sang only minor roles at first, but substituting in Rusalka soon proved that he was irreplaceable in both the Czech and international repertoire. His soft, cultivated voice, ardent expression and flexible acting inspired by great idolsspecially Vilém Zítek-added a unique dimension to him, even in his sense of comedy. This was particularly evident in his Mumlal, Paloucký and Kecal, but he also created extraordinarily fine roles as Beneš and Rarach, and from the international repertoire, as Masetto, Leporello and Colline, and the more serious Sarastro, Rocco, Gremin, Dosifey, Philip II and Pogner. He also had a lively interest in contemporary music, and was a strong performer in the Prague premieres of works such as Kubelíks Veronika and Prokofievs War and Peace. He made complete recordings of The Kiss, The Bartered Bride, The Brandenburgs in Bohemia, Dalibor, The Secret, Jenůfa and Svätopluk.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License
  • Music

    • "Stabat Mater, Cantata for Soloists, Choir and Orchestra, Op. 58: IV. Fac, ut ardeat cor meum. Largo" by Miroslav Kampelsheimer Listen ad-free with YouTube Red


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...