YouTube home #HappyBirthdayYouTube


Bruckner's Symphony No. 9: An Introduction





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.



Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Feb 16, 2012

In the latest installment of our "A Golden Age of Music" series, Carnegie Hall's Director of Artistic Planning Jeremy Geffen and Sir Simon Rattle of the Berliner Philharmoniker introduce Bruckner's spiritual and sweeping Ninth Symphony.

Written when he was aware of his approaching death, the symphony's final movement—which Geffen describes "as expansive and heartfelt a piece as he ever wrote"—remained unfinished by the time Bruckner passed away in 1896. Sir Simon Rattle explains how that final movement has been reconstructed from the fragments left by Bruckner and which the Berliner Philharmoniker performs at Carnegie Hall on February 24, 2012.

More information about the Berliner Philharmoniker's February 24 concert is available at

More information about "A Golden Age of Music" is available at

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up Next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...