Scriabin: Sonata No.2 in G-sharp Minor (Trifonov, Melnikov, Pogorelich)




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Dec 24, 2016

Scriabin’s second Sonata in G# Minor must rank as one of the most evocative ever written. The first movement features two of the most beautiful motifs ever conceived: the first, the brooding echo of a bell; and the second, a soaring melody placed in the middle of the texture, swathed with delicate latticework. Structurally, there are at least two features of the first movement worth noting: that every section (exposition, development, and recapitulation) begins with the same music, and that the movement ends in E Major, a colour which appeared to Scriabin bluish-white (Scriabin is perhaps the most famous classical composer to have synaesthesia).The second movement, a pulsating perpetuum mobile, contains within it a rising, aching melody which is never presented in its full form until its last occurrence near the end of the movement.

It’s also interesting to note that Scriabin had a distinct imagistic programme for this sonata, which might explain the choice of E Major as the key in which the first movement ends: “The first part evokes the calm of a night by the seashore in the South; in the development we hear the sombre agitation of the depths. The section in E major represents the tender moonlight which comes after the first dark of the night. The second movement, presto, shows the stormy agitation of the vast expanse of ocean.”

Trifonov –
00:00 – Mvt 1, Andante
07:04 – Mvt 2, Presto

Melnikov –
10:25 – Mvt 1, Andante
17:43 – Mvt 2, Presto

Pogorelich –
20:58 – Mvt 1, Andante
31:03 – Mvt 2, Presto


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...