A. Corelli: Concerto Grosso in G Minor "Christmas", Op. 6, No. 8





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Mar 15, 2011

This very fine interpretation comes from the Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra on authentic instruments, directed from the harpsichord by Nicholas McGegan. The lightness and clarity are probably the core qualities of authenticity for this piece.

Twelve concerti grossi, Op. 6, are a collection of twelve concerti written by Arcangelo Corelli, arranged for publication in 1708. These are some of the finest examples of the baroque-style Concerti Grossi concertos for a concertino group of two violins and cello and a ripieno group of 2 violins, cello and continuo. Concerto No. 8, in G Minor, also known as the "Christmas Concerto" as it was written for Christmas Eve and has a pastorale in the last movement.

Vivace -- Grave
Adagio -- Allegro -- Adagio
Pastorale: Largo

The Corelli concerti grossi summarize the standard model of Italian Baroque music.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...