Welcome to the ShiftPlanning video tutorial Schedule Settings: here we will show you how to successfully change the global schedule settings.
To find the global Schedule Settings:
Go to: the tab Admin - and under Account - Settings - Schedule Settings
Users with manager permissions have control over what employees can take action on and view within ShiftPlanning accounts. This includes the ability to limit the shifts that employees can see as well as the ability to require shift trade approvals and open shift approvals.
Time Format (Save & Refresh for change to take effect)
This is the setting to adjust the global time format between 12 hour and 24 hour time formats - remember to Save and Refresh for the changes to take effect.
Date Format (Save & Refresh for change to take effect)
Here you can adjust the global date setting between the display formats 11/15/2011, 11-15-2011 or Nov 15, 2011. Remember to Save and Refresh for the changes to take effect.
This is the start of the calendar week, as well as the start day for the overtime and payroll periods.
Use the Draft/Publish schedule method
If this is unchecked, your schedules are always immediately visible to your employees. If this is checked, you will need to publish your schedules manually when you are ready for them to see them.
Use the shift approval feature
If this option is checked, you approve shifts after they have happened for accurate attendance and payroll data. Once approved the shift information will go into the rest of the system.
Employees can view shifts in advance from the current date.
Here managers can designate how far in the future schedules are published. This allows managers to create and edit schedules at their leisure without having to worry about employees having access to all of the future shifts.
Show costing data in the scheduler
Here you can control the visibility of real-time costing data that is visible in the scheduler.
Employees can trade shifts
Here you can allow employees the ability to put their shifts up for trade or not.
Manager must confirm shift trades before requests are sent to other employees
Here you can confirm shift trade requests before they reach potential employees that can accept them or you can have them automatically approved.
Manager must confirm shift trades after another employee requests to pick it up
Here you can confirm if the final shift trade will be accepted before the shift is actually swapped or you can have them automatically accepted.
Employees can view all schedules
Here you can allow, or not, all employees to view all the schedules on your account in a read only fashion.
Employees can view schedules they are scheduled on
Here you can allow employees to view the entire schedules for positions that they're scheduled on. If unchecked they will not be able to view the entire schedules for positions that they're scheduled on.
Employees see co-workers on shifts
Here you can allow employees to see co-workers, otherwise they will see just their own shifts.
Employees can drop shifts
Here you can allow employees to remove themselves from shifts without approval, otherwise they will not be able to remove themselves.
Employee requests to pick-up open shifts are automatically approved
Here employees' requests to pick-up open shifts are automatically approved. If unchecked then they will need approval first.
Employees cannot be scheduled on shifts within X time of each other
Here you can restrict the minimum time required between shifts.
For more info check out this topic on our Forum -