Upload

Loading...

World Choir of Santa Cruz "YaLaLay"

1,993

Loading...

Loading...

Loading...

Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Apr 11, 2013

Music Scores are available at http://www.RockArborMusic.com. The World Choir and Orchestra of Santa Cruz perform "YaLaLay", composed and directed by Stephen Bigger.

Swahili Lyric Translation assistance: Sila Tuju
Lyrics translation:
Hey everybody!
Everyone is laughing, everyone is loving.
Listen to our singing!
We are here to provide an evening of music and laughter,
Hey everybody sing!

The night is eternal without love
But the dawn arrives with a smile
When we hold someone near
And we kiss the darkness away.

©2013 Stephen L Bigger ASCAP
YaLaLay is a celebration, the words imply "woohoo!".

This SAATTBB arrangement may be performed by 3 men and 3 women's voices in a variety of settings- from voices only (with small adaptation for the musical breaks- instrumental parts may be represented by vocal treatment) to vocals with drums, vocals with piano, and on up to full orchestration.

Perfect as a concert opener or finale, the energy generated from this piece makes it a versatile inclusion in standard repertoire for choirs who want to be challenged musically but have a lot of fun in the process. It can be a quick learn to master the basics, but developing the finer points, swoops, stomps, and vocal noises will give the most insatiable appetite something on which to delight their (and their audiences') aural appetite.

Recording Project Contributors:
Tim Prince, tracking engineer and mixing consultant.
Produced and Mixed by Stephen L Bigger
Mastering by Ross Wilson

Featured performers:
Violin- Laurel Thomsen http://www.laurelthomsen.com/Laurel_T...
Bass- Dan Robbins http://www.danrobbinsmusic.com/
Drums- Michael Daugherty www.rockarbormusic.com
Ronny Crawford- https://www.facebook.com/ronnydrum?re...
Guitar- Colin Gailey https://www.facebook.com/colin.gailey
Keys- Stephen Bigger http://www.rockarbormusic.com/
Ikuyo Conant,Taiko http://www.watsonvilletaiko.org/

Vocalists-
Vanessa Yearsley https://www.facebook.com/vanessa.year...
Tammi Brown http://www.tammibrown.com/
Bryan Dyer http://bryandyer.wordpress.com/
Valerie Joi http://valeriejoi.com/
Michael Logue https://www.facebook.com/michael.logue.9
Rhan Wilson http://www.rhanwilson.com/
Alysha Antonino www.reverbnation.com/alysharocks9
Shannon Miller http://www.shannonmillermusic.com/
Beth Bigger http://www.biggerthanbeautiful.myarbo...
Tina McRorie https://www.facebook.com/tina.mcrorie...
Jane Daugherty https://www.facebook.com/jane.m.daugh...
Terrel Eaton https://www.facebook.com/terrel.eaton

Dancers:
Heather Pixie http://heatherpixie.com/dance.html

Video Production:
Chris Layhe & Alexandra Conway
CLAi http://www.CLAi.tv

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License

Loading...

When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up Next


to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...