Beethoven Symp. #3 - c. Hans Pfitzner 1929 - Part 1





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jan 6, 2008

A request (6 Parts). Hans Pfitzner (1869-1949) conducting the Berlin Philharmonic performing Beethoven's Third Symphony for Polydor in 1929. Pfitzner was one of the more interesting personalities of his time. Now more famous for his compositions than his conducting. He was a conservative, fervent nationalist and felt that all serious music should serve the fatherland. He blamed the "Jewish" influence for the decline of western music in the 20th century. Its no surprise that he was an early supporter of Hitler. However, despite an anti-modernist strain of antisemitism, he had great regard for Jewish composers and musicians (who agreed with him). By 1933 he rebelled against the Nazi efforts to cleanse Germany culture of ANY Jewish influence. All of his positions were taken away from him. His money was confiscated and his home and possessions were destroyed by bombings. He kept on composing but died in poverty at age 80. His compositions are still performed, the most famous of which is an opera, Palestrina. I have a set of him conducting excerpts but can't find it. He was described by one musician as "a quirky, quarrelsome little man". His conducting is definitely 19th century. This performance wanders around quite a bit. Furtwaengler was influenced by Pfitzner. The sound quality in this posting is quite erratic - typical of early electric Polydors. They would squeeze over 5 minutes of music on one side and only 2 1/2 minutes on another. The longs sides suffer from dim sound and noise towards the center. The short sides are quite loud. Also, the grooves sometimes extend to the outside edge of the record making it difficult to place the tone arm. Naxos has reissued this set in quite good, even sound. It must have been a lot of work.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License
  • Song

    • 636943191026_01_01;I. Allegro con brio
  • Artist

    • Hans Pfitzner
  • Album

    • BEETHOVEN: Symphonies Nos. 3 and 8 (Pfitzner) (1929-1933)
  • Licensed by

    • NaxosofAmerica (on behalf of Naxos); AdShare (Publishing)


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...