ZOFO - Mosh Pit




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on May 23, 2013

Sono Luminus is excited to release this second album from the dynamic duet ZOFO, Mosh Pit, where Eva-Maria Zimmermann and Keisuke Nakagoshi put their considerable keyboard skills to the test in an exciting, in-depth exploration of dance-inspired duet compositions by six distinctly American voices of the twentieth century -- George Gershwin, Conlon Nancarrow, Allen Shawn, Samuel Barber, John Corigliano and Paul Schoenfield. With pieces ranging from waltz to tango to boogie and beyond, ZOFO's high energy interpretations beg the question: Shall we dance?

ZOFO's first release, Mind Meld (DSL-92151) featured stunning duet works by four highly influential composers of the 20th century who knew each other, learned from each other, sometimes performed together, and embraced the piano-four-hands form -- Leonard Bernstein, Harold Shapero, Claude Debussy and Igor Stravinsky. The album was widely acclaimed by critics and received a 55th Annual GRAMMY® Award Nomination for Best Chamber Music/Small Ensemble.

For this, their second album, ZOFO returns with exciting, high energy duet works by another group of noted 20th century composers, all American -- George Gershwin, Conlon Nancarrow, Allen Shawn, Samuel Barber, John Corigliano and Paul Schoenfield. The pieces featured on Mosh Pit explore a wide range of evocative dance styles and rhythms, from Gershwin's driving rumba in "Cuban Overture" to Barber's sensuous "Hesitation- Tango" to Paul Schoenfield's dizzying "Boogie" from Five Days from the Life of a Manic Depressive. Drawing inspiration from classical, modern, jazz, and rock and roll forms, the Mosh Pit repertoire and ZOFO's inspired performances might tempt you to the dance floor.

ZOFO is the dynamic partnership of internationally acclaimed solo pianists Keisuke Nakagoshi and Eva-Maria Zimmermann. One of a rare handful of professional ensembles worldwide focusing exclusively on piano duets, ZOFO is rediscovering and energetically performing hidden gems of the traditional one-piano-four-hands repertoire, along with a strong dedication to 20th and emerging 21st century works. As innovators in the genre, ZOFO also performs heart pumping one-piano-four-hands arrangements of famous orchestral pieces, such as Igor Stravinsky's Rite of Spring, exploring the realms in which many composers first experienced their symphonic visions.


  • Category

  • Song

    • Cuban Overture (version for piano duet)
  • Artist

    • ZOFO Duet
  • Album

    • Mosh Pit
  • Writers

    • George Gershwin
  • Licensed to YouTube by

    • NaxosofAmerica (on behalf of Sono Luminus); Warner Chappell, PEDL, and 2 Music Rights Societies


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...