Erik Wøllo: TUNDRA (excerpts)




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jul 14, 2014

Erik Wøllo: "TUNDRA" (Projekt PRO306)
Mini album / EP, released July 22 2014
Available as digital download:

- iTunes:
- Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Tundra-EP-Erik-...
- Bandcamp (high res files): http://projektrecords.bandcamp.com/al...

Available on CD (limited amount of copies available!):
The Tundra EP finds Erik Wøllo creating fascinating atmospheric and rhythmic instrumental electronic music. This 30-minute 5-song ep features all new, previously unreleased tracks that showcase Erik's ability to incorporate new and fresh elements into his music while remaining true to his unique style. A strong emphasis on sequenced rhythmic passages and grooves mixes with spacious deep ambient soundscapes and melodic themes provided by electric guitars and various synthesizers.

On "Tundra," "The Native Chant" and "Swirling Lights" the use of throat singing samples and vocals from Arctic indigenous people add a human, earthy element to the electronics. Erik reflects, "The concept of incorporating traditional world music elements into my work is something I have been excited about since the 1990's.
Over the years, I have worked with various artists from India, Africa, North America and other countries, mixing the local indigenous textures and instruments together with my modern electronic equipment. I wanted to recreate some of these ideas on Tundra. These tracks could be the soundtrack to a documentary about the nature and climate of the northern hemisphere where everything is limited because of the harshness of the environment, and cultures are forced to adapt to the challenging surroundings."

Influenced by these ideas, Erik created these brilliant musical landscapes. Ranging from down to earth rhythms and chants to mesmerizing late night nordic light-scenes, this music showcases a natural authenticity that is both appealing and deeply engaging.
This video does have excerpts from all of the 5 tracks:

1: Tundra
2: Perma
3: Taiga
4: The Native Chant
5: Swirling Lights

Total time 30 minutes

All music composed, performed and produced by Erik Wøllo at Wintergarden Studio, Norway, 2014

Instrumentation: Electric & Acoustic Guitars, Guitar Synthesizers, Keyboards and Samplers, Percussion and Programming

Front/inside Cover Photo by Igor Kawecki (www.kawecki.art.pl)
Back Cover Digital Image by Erik Wøllo
Graphic Cover Design by Sam Rosenthal

Video created by Erik Wøllo

  • Category

  • Song

  • Artist

    • Erik Wøllo
  • Album

    • Tundra (EP)
  • Licensed to YouTube by

    • Entertainment One U.S., LP (on behalf of Projekt)


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...