Amores (1/2) - John Cage [ Ensemble 64.8 ]





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jan 17, 2010

Amores (1943)
-John Cage

This video features the first two movements of John Cage's 'Amores'. The performance is by members of Ensemble 64.8 and guest artist, Ilia Radoslavov, on the prepared piano. It took place on November 21st, 2009, in the Davis Concert Hall at the University of Alaska, Fairbanks.

Performers left to right:

Ilia Radoslavov
Chris Reichmeier
Caitlyn Hatcher
Trevor Saint

"In four movements, 'Amores' consists of two movements for percussion trio surrounded by two movements for solo prepared piano. Working as an accompanist for dance companies, John Cage was limited to space; therefore a single piano. To create percussive sounds for the dancers, Cage pioneered the use of the prepared piano. In 'Amores', the piano is prepared by fitting screws, bolts, nuts, and strips of rubber between the piano strings, creating an idiosyncratic voice unknown to the time-honored classical piano. The solo piano music of 'Amores', through the use of preparations, creates both eroticism and tranquility. The second movement, for three players on nine tom-toms and a pod rattle, uses rhythmic structures to create flux between the individual players, while the third movement, for seven blocks of wood, uses rhythmic patterns to create an amalgamate of the three players into a single voice."

-Program notes by Trevor Saint

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...