Viktor Ullmann: Piano Sonata 7 (5)





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Aug 7, 2011

Viktor Ullmann: Piano Sonata 7:
1. Allegro, gemächliche Halbe
2. Alla marcia, ben misurato
3. Adagio, ma non moto
4. Scherzo. Allegretto grazioso - Trio - Scherzo
5. Thema, Variationen und Fugue über ein hebräisches Volkslied

Viktor Ullmann (1 January 1898, in Teschen -- 18 October 1944, in KZ Auschwitz-Birkenau) was a Silesia-born Austrian, later Czech composer, conductor and pianist of Jewish origin.
The work he completed in Theresienstadt was mostly preserved and comprises, in addition to choral works, song cycles and a quantity of stage music, such significant works as the last three piano sonatas, the Third String Quartet, the melodrama based on Rilke's Cornet poem, and the chamber opera The Emperor of Atlantis, or The Refusal of Death, with a libretto by Peter Kien. Its premiere was planned for Theresienstadt in the autumn of 1944, conducted by Rafael Schachter, but the SS commander noticed similarities between the Emperor of Atlantis and Adolf Hitler and suppressed it.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up Next

Sign in to add this to Watch Later

Add to