Joseph Haydn - Seven Last Words: Introduction - the Navarra Quartet at the City of London Festival





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jul 1, 2009

Joseph Haydn's 'Seven Last Words from the Cross' - Introduction: Maestoso ed Adagio - as performed by the Navarra Quartet.

Haydn's remarkable string quartet cycle was composed for the Lenten liturgy at Spain's Cádiz Cathedral in 1787: each slow movement was to follow a sermon on one of the dying Christ's last sayings in the gospels.

This performance was a part of the 2009 City of London Festival and took place in the Church of St. Stephen, Walbrook, on the 26th of June 2009.

The Navarra Quartet consist of: Xander van Vliet (Violin), Marije Ploemacher (Violin), Simone van der Giessen (Viola), Nathaniel Boyd (Cello).

For more information, please visit the following websites:
- http://www.navarra.co.uk/
- http://www.colf.org/
- http://www.maybeor.com/

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...