You're viewing YouTube in English (US).
Switch to another language: | View all
You're viewing YouTube in English.
Switch to another language: | View all

MEPs call for a Referendum on the Lisbon Treaty - 12.12.2007




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Dec 18, 2007

An initiative of the Independence/Democracy Group (ID) - Co-Chaired by MEPs Nigel Farage and Jens-Peter Bonde - European Parliament, Strasbourg - 12.12.2007
- Background:
The President of the European Commission, the President of the European Council and the President of the European Parliament gather to sign the Charter of Fundamental Rights, which will replace the European Convention on Human Rights. The Charter forms part of the "Lisbon Treaty", recently known as the "reform treaty", or the redesigned Constitutional Treaty.

A number of Members of the European Parliament (MEP) rose in protest against the "Lisbon Treaty" (signed by the 27 Heads of State and Government on 13.12.2007).

The "Lisbon Treaty" establishes the same EU Constitution that was rejected by the French and Dutch referendums in 2005.

This violates the principle of unanimity, where all Member States must consent to each new treaty.

As Italian interior minister, Giuliano Amato said at the London School of Economics last February, "The good thing about not calling it a constitution is that no one can ask for a referendum."

As a result, the French and Dutch votes were ignored, and five governments have cancelled a promised referendum (Czech Rep., Denmark, Poland, Portugal, UK).

Only Ireland will have a referendum. The other 26 Member States will ratify the treaty in parliament without asking the people.

Have your say on the Future of Europe.
Go to and sign for a REFERENDUM in your country.

Participating: MEPs from the Independence/Democracy Group, the GUE/NGL Group (Confederal Group of the European United Left - Nordic Green Left), the UEN Group (Union for Europe of the Nations), some members from the ED faction of the EPP-ED, and the Non-attached.

To view the Political Groups in the European Parliament go to:
Note: The European Parliament has 2 buildings, one in Brussels (the main) and one in Strasbourg, where most of the plenary sessions take place. So for 5 days a month nearly the whole Brussels Parliament moves to Strasbourg (5.5 hours by train). This monthly move costs European taxpayers over 250 million euros a year. (Note that in English 'euro' becomes 'euros' in plural and NOT as the EU bureaucrats have dictated; it makes no sense to say "give me two euro". Same goes for "cent").

EU Member States:
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Spain, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, United Kingdom

Other states in Europe:
Switzerland, Iceland, Norway, Faroes, Andorra, Monaco, Liechtenstein, San Marino, Russia, Ukraine, Moldova, Transdniestria (Transnistria), Belarus, Turkey, Croatia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, Albania.

Azzurri, alzatevi dal sonno! Italia Sicilia Sardegna Milano Roma Napoli Firenze Genova Italiani alzatevi dal sonno! Torino Palermo Bolgna Catania Bari Juventus Roberto Benigni Italiani alzatevi dal sonno!


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...