Alfred Schnittke: Cello Sonata no. 1 (1978)




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Oct 13, 2012

I:Largo -- II. Presto -- III. Largo

Devoid of the more flamboyant gestures of some of Schnittke's later music, this sonata shows a clear indebtedness to the clarity (and sometimes the irony) of Shostakovich. Its three sections are played without a pause; the brief, elegiac first movement and demonic second movement, ending in catastrophic collapse, are both revisited in the extended, dream-like finale.

A definitive performance by Josef Lupták (cello) and Nora Skuta (piano), ar the 2012 Indian Summer in Levoca Festival


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...