Jihye Lee Orchestra - Deep Blue Sea





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Apr 15, 2016

"Deep Blue Sea" will be on Berklee alumna Jihye Lee’s first album with orchestra entitled April. The album will be released in May, 2016.

Notes from the composer: April is co-produced by renowned composer and trumpet player Greg Hopkins, professor of Jazz Composition at Berklee, who is also a featured soloist. The orchestra's personnel are primarily Berklee faculty, including trumpeter Sean Jones and drummer Mark Walker.

April was composed in response to the mysterious, yet poignant wreck, on 16 April 2014, of the Korean ferry Sewol, which sank en route from Incheon to Jeju, claiming the lives of 304 innocent passengers, most of whom were teenage children. This horrific and, for some, controversial event shocked the entire country, leaving its people haunted in the wake of this senseless tragedy. I had composed April Wind and Deep Blue Sea shortly before, and my apartment number was also 304; it was very strong coincidence giving me more conviction to bring April to life.

Deep Blue Sea captures the movement of the water's dance, serene waves at night and majestic whirlpool underneath the deep sea. Although composed before the ferry actually sank, it turned out to be a song of the sea singing while holding Sewol Ho in its arms; you will hear the story the sea tells.

Jihye Lee:
Website: http://jihyemusic.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jihye.lee.98...

Subscribe: http://bit.ly/1MjVyEN
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/berkleecollege
Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/berkleecollege
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/berkleecollege
Site: https://www.berklee.edu

"Deep Blue Sea"

Composer, Arranger, Voice: Jihye Lee

Flute: Elzbieta Brandys
Alto 1, Clarinet, Flute: Shannon LeClaire
Alto 2: Allan Chase
Tenor 1: Rick DiMuzio
Tenor 2, Clarinet: Bob Patton
Baritone, Bass Clarinet: Ben Whiting

Trumpet 1: Bijon Watson
Trumpet 2: Jeff Claassen
Trumpet 3: Rich Given
Trumpet 4: Greg Hopkins

Trombone 1: Jeff Galindo
Trombone 2: Rick Stepton
Trombone 3: Artie Montanero
Bass Trombone: Peter Cirelli

Piano: Alain Mallet
Guitar: Bruce Bartlett
Bass: John Lockwood
Drums: Mark Walker

Recorded by Antonio Oliart at WGBH

Mixed by Dae-Hee Kim at Valley Mixing Studio, Korea

Edited, preliminary mixed by Bob Patton at Thin Ice Productions

Mastered by Sangwook Sunny Nam at Jacob's Well Mastering

Filmed by Alex Chaloff at Bucket's Moving Company

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...