Sarah Vaughan - Detour Ahead (Live @ the London House) Mercury Records 1958





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jul 20, 2011

Detour Ahead is a jazz standard with words and music credited to Herb Ellis, John Frigo, and Lou Carter.

The song was written in 1947 while Carter, Ellis and Frigo were part of The Soft Winds, a group they created after leaving Jimmy Dorsey's orchestra. In 1949 Billie Holiday recorded the song with Tiny Grimes' Sextet.

While officially credited to Carter, Frigo, and Ellis, there is no agreement in whether all three composed the song.

The original lyrics compare love's progress to a motor trip -- the perfect metaphor in 1950s America.

Sarah's accompanied on the live album "After Hours" by Ronell Bright -- piano, Richard Davis -- double bass, Roy Haynes -- drums, Thad Jones -- trumpet, Wendell Culley, Henry Corker -- trombone, and Frank Wess -- tenor saxophone. Recorded live at the London House in Chicago, Illinois, March 7, 1958. (Mercury Records)

  • Category

  • Song

  • Artist

    • Sarah Vaughan
  • Writers

    • Lou Carter, Johnny Frigo, Herb Ellis
  • Licensed to YouTube by

    • UMG (on behalf of VERVE); ASCAP, and 4 Music Rights Societies


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...