Loading...

Aegis BMD (JCTV-1) Stellar Tsuru Quicklook

4,463 views

Loading...

Loading...

Transcript

The interactive transcript could not be loaded.

Loading...

Loading...

Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Oct 20, 2006

Air Force Lieutenant General Henry "Trey" Obering III announced that the U.S. Missile Defense Agency (MDA), in cooperation with the Japan Defense Agency and the U.S. Navy, today successfully completed a cooperative flight test mission. This flight test mission, entitled Joint Control Test Vehicle-1 (JCTV-1), demonstrated the performance of an SM-3 missile that has been modified with a Japan-designed advanced nosecone and the Aegis BMD Weapon System. In previous Aegis BMD flight test missions, the SM-3 missile maneuvered to eject the nosecone before deploying the kinetic warhead to intercept the target. With the modified configuration, the nosecone opens like a clamshell without any missile maneuvers.
At approximately 10:45 a.m. (HST), 3:45 p.m. (EST) a simulated target was entered into the Aegis BMD Weapon System onboard the USS Lake Erie (CG 70). Based on the simulated target, the ship developed a fire control solution.

At approximately 10:47 a.m. (HST), 3:47 p.m. (EST), the Lake Erie's crew launched the modified SM-3. The Aegis BMD Weapon System guided the SM-3 through its first, second, and third stages. At 10:48 a.m. (HST), 3:48 p.m. (EST), after completion of the third stage's burn, the advanced design nosecone was deployed at approximately 55 miles above the Pacific Ocean and 60 miles northwest of Kauai.

For the JCTV-1 flight test mission, the kinetic warhead of the SM-3 missile was replaced with an instrumentation / telemetry package (ITP). The ITP recorded temperature and shock readings during the flight test mission and its cameras viewed the separation of the clamshell nosecone.

This flight test mission is part of the U.S.-Japan Joint Cooperative Research Project that began in August 1999. The objectives of the project are to perform research on advanced components of the SM-3 missile. This flight test mission is an important milestone in the project and is an example of the close coordination between the U.S. and Japan in ballistic missile defense.

MDA and the U.S. Navy cooperatively manage the Aegis BMD Program. Lockheed Martin Maritime Systems and Sensors of Moorestown, New Jersey is the Combat System Engineering Agent (CSEA) and prime contractor for the Aegis Weapon System and Vertical Launch System installed in Aegis-equipped cruisers and destroyers. Raytheon Missile Systems of Tucson, Arizona is the prime contractor for the SM-3 missile and all previous variants of Standard Missile.

Approved for release 8 March 2006. 06-FYI-0072

Loading...

When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next


to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...