NABOB's 2010 Communications Awards dinner honored Gamble and Huff





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.



Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Mar 20, 2010

NEWS: NABOB dinner honored Percy Sutton, Teddy Pendergrass and Gamble and Huff

(BlackPress.org) - R&B artist Maxwell, legendary songwriters and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame duo Gamble and Huff and Grammy award winner Hezekiah Walker were among the honorees at the 26th National Association of Black Owned Broadcasters Annual Communications Awards Dinner. The dinner was held on Friday, March 19, 2010 at the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington, D.C.

Maxwell, Grammy award winning R & B artist, were honored and received the 2010 Entertainer of the Year Award. Gamble and Huff, creators of the Philadelphia Sound, received the Pioneer in Music Award. Walker, a world-famous gospel singer and founder and Bishop of the Love Fellowship Tabernacle - The Kingdom Church, received the Pioneer in Gospel Music Award. Civil rights activist and founder of the National Action Network, Rev. Al Sharpton received the Mickey Leland Public Service Award.

"2009 was a significant year for Blacks in the broadcast industry and throughout the entertainment arena—we experienced some major successes, but we lost some true heroes," said Jim Winston, NABOB Executive Director. "NABOB is proud for this opportunity to celebrate our achievements as we come together to build a stronger future for people of color in our industry."

This year's dinner featured a live all-star tribute to the late Teddy Pendergrass, featuring Peabo Bryson, Joe, and the Ray Chew Band; and a video tribute to Inner City Broadcasting founder, the late Percy Sutton.

Each spring NABOB honors some of the most recognizable and celebrated names in entertainment, media and public service. 2009 honorees included U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder, singer Chaka Khan, and actress and comedienne Mo'nique.

Watch the video and hear from NABOB Executive Director Jim Winston at youtube.com/blackpress.

WINNERS ANNOUNCED: Missed the event? You can still see all of your favorite Black Press All Star winners in the sneak peek VIDEO on the Black Press Channel on YouTube at www.youtube.com/blackpress.

See the full WINNERS list at:



Website: www.BlackPress.org
Video Channel: www.youtube.com/BlackPress

Historical Black Press Foundation | Copyright 2000-2009 All Rights Reserved.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...