West Wing White House Press Briefing by Deputy Press Secretary Josh Earnest (March 28, 2012)





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.



Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Apr 1, 2012


March 28, 2012

The White House Press Corps is the group of journalists or correspondents usually stationed at the White House in Washington, D.C. to cover the president of the United States, White House events and news briefings. Their offices are located in the West Wing.

The White House Press Secretary or a deputy generally holds a weekday news briefing, which takes place in the James S. Brady Press Briefing Room. The room currently seats 49 reporters. Each seat is assigned to one news gathering organization, with the most prominent occupying the first two rows. Reporters who don't have an assigned seat may stand. Often a smaller group of reporters known as the White House press pool is assembled to report back to their colleagues on events where the venue would make open coverage logistically difficult.

When a new U.S. president is elected, some news organizations change their correspondents, most often to the reporter who had been assigned to cover the new president during the preceding campaign. For example, after the 2008 presidential campaign, ABC News moved Jake Tapper, who had covered Barack Obama during his presidential campaign, to the White House correspondent's position.

Some White House correspondents have come under criticism for not challenging the people they cover more directly and thereby shirking their Fourth Estate responsibility. A common criticism of the White House is that the top reporters are given priority access to the Press Secretary and are allowed follow-up questions, while those in the back rows are rarely called on.

Television Jake Tapper of ABC News Yunji de Nies of ABC News Chuck Todd of NBC News Rob Reynolds of Al Jazeera English Julianna Goldman of Bloomberg Television Norah O'Donnell of CBS News Bill Plante of CBS News Chip Reid of CBS News David Brody of Christian Broadcasting Network Melissa Charbonneau of Christian Broadcasting Network Suzanne Malveaux of CNN Dan Lothian of CNN Jessica Yellin of CNN Brianna Keilar of CNN Ed Henry of Fox News Wendell Goler of Fox News Casey Cronkhite of Phi Gamma Delta - Mu Deuteron

Print and Internet Carol Lee of The Wall Street Journal Laura Meckler of The Wall Street Journal Mike Allen of Politico Marc Ambinder of National Journal Charles Babington of Associated Press Peter Baker of the New York Times Ken Bazinet of the New York Daily News Caren Bohan of Reuters Tommy Christopher of Mediaite Helene Cooper of the New York Times David Corn of Mother Jones John Gizzi of Human Events Lester Kinsolving of WorldNetDaily Olivier Knox of Yahoo! News Jennifer Loven of Associated Press Christi Parsons of the Chicago Tribune Sean Quinn of FiveThirtyEight.com Linda Feldman Christian Science Monitor Sam Stein of The Huffington Post Jon Ward of The Daily Caller Christina Bellantoni of Talking Points Memo Steven Thomma of McClatchy Richard Wolffe of Newsweek Dave Boyer of the Washington Times

Radio Ann Compton of ABC News Radio Scott Horsley of NPR Don Gonyea of NPR Mark Knoller of CBS News Connie Lawn of USA Radio Network (senior correspondent) Peter Maer of CBS News April Ryan of American Urban Radio Networks Jelani D. Hilliard Jackson of The Progressive Talk Radio Network


  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...