Haydn The Seasons [HD] - Spring part 1: introduction & spring chorus





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jun 28, 2012

Live performance at Palais des Beaux-Arts, Brussels on 3 June 2012

chorus: Octopus Symphony Chorus
orchestra: Le Concert d'Anvers
conductor: Bart Van Reyn

soprano: Ida Falk Winland
tenor: Yves Saelens
bass: Birger Radde

more info: www.octopusensembles.be

OVERTURE - the Introduction paints the passage of Winter to Spring.

Simon (bass): See how stern Winter takes to flight! He is retreating to the distant poles. Responding to his command, the blustering hordes of tempests follow, howling dismally.
Lucas (tenor): See how the snow, in muddy streams, runs off the craggy cliffs!
Hannah (soprano): See how the heralds of the Spring, enticed by warm, soft breezes, begin to arrive from the south!

Come, fair Spring, thou gift of Heaven, come! Awaken nature from her deathlike sleep! Come, come, fair Spring!, etc.
Fair Spring is drawing nigh, we can feel its gentle breath already, soon shall everything return to life.
Do not celebrate too soon; for often, mist-enshrouded, the Winter can creep back, and spew his poison over bud and shoot.
Come, fair Spring, thou gift of Heaven, come! Come! Upon our meadows set thy foot! Oh come, fair Spring, oh come and tarry no longer!

Simon (bass): In Aries now, the sun streams brightly down upon us. Frost and fog are in retreat, mild vapours hover all around; softness returns to the earth and gladness to the air.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...