Sigmun - Crimson Eyes (2015) (Full Album)





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on May 18, 2017

Rock band Sigmun from Bandung, West Java has a clear vision as to why they named the band based on the renowned psychologist Sigmund Freud: They believe that the music they make is coming spontaneously from their subconscious minds. Formed in 2011, Sigmun consists of Haikal Azizi (vocals/guitar), Soedjono âJonoâ Sosroatmodjo (guitar), Mirfak Prabowo (bass) and Pratama âTamaâ Kusuma Putra (drums). Their music can be best characterized as riff-heavy blues sounds that twist and turn until they climax in a theatrical way. That's hardly an original description; from Led Zeppelin to the Swans, Sigmun's influences could be worth a paragraph of their own. And that's not a problem. For one thing, owning up to influences is okay; carving out a space from them is even better. That's exactly what Sigmun has been doing for years.

They nod to old-school, ferocious psychedelia, but the music that comes from their subconscious minds is another thing: Sigmun's songs often are stretched into a long, distortion-driven jams before a sudden key change may alter your entire judgment. In 2015 they released their debut record entitled Crimson Eyes, an 11-track LP with traces of influences that merely inspire instead of mold. For long-time fans the record will surely go down as a treasure. The songs vary in length, sometimes they can go on for eight minutes, sometimes just a mere three, but Sigmun's hard-rock, unconventional song-structures are largely intact.

On Crimson Eyes, the songs are fashioned with an impressive attention to detail. The clean production that might have otherwise buried the songs in unlistenable dross certainly workes its charm. Pay attention to the astronomical risk they were willing to take on the record, especially on songs like Inner Sanctum, Golden Tangerine and Aerial Chateau. The transitions in these songs are delightfully seamless and the songs themselves are rousingly epic. Sigmun is also a band grounded in its members individual talents. Crimson Eyes will bring you Tamas restrained drumming, Haikal and Yonoâ's guitar interplays that stack upon each other like a game of Jenga and, of course, Haikalâ's sharp and controlled vocals that deliver punches into every line of a song.

Review by Robby Wahyudi Onggo http://www.thejakartapost.com/news/20...

1. In the Horizon - 0:00
2. Vultures - 8:27
3. Devil in Disguise - 12:23
4. Halfglass Full of Poison - 17:49
5. The Summoning - 21:44
6. The Gravestones - 29:40
7. Prayer of Tempest - 33:09
8. Inner Sanctum - 40:34
9. Golden Tangerine - 47:37
10. Aerial Chateau - 53:45
11. Ozymandias - 1:00:42

Support Sigmun by purchasing the album here https://sigmunmusic.bandcamp.com/albu...



  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...