Khol (Mridanga) Lesson 07: Approaching Rhythmic Cycles





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.



Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Dec 21, 2010

This lesson might not be the most exciting, but it is, nonetheless, very important. This lesson introduces three things

1) Definitions
- Theka: prototype, basic form,/"groove" of the cycle
- Prakar: variation of the cycle
- Avartana: completion of one cycle
- Matra: a beat/unit of time
- Sam: first Matra of the cycle
- Vibhag: sections within the rhythmic cycle, divided by the tala numbers

2) Bhatkhande notation. This is how rhythmic cycles are written out.
RED ROW: Tala numbers. They break the cycle into sections known as vibhags
BLACK NUMBERS: Matra numbers. Shows where in the cycle one is at.
BOLS (in the blocks): Shows what to play at what point of the cycle.

There is an exercise at the end of this lesson.

3) Approaching new cycles. There are two ways to learn. Using elementary kirtana rhythm from Lesson 6:
- BOL METHOD: progres by one matra.
1) tā
2) tā -
3) tā - -
4) tā - - ke
5) tā - - ke tā
6) tā - - ke tā ghe
7) tā - - ke tā ghe ghe
8) tā - - ke tā ghe ghe -

- VIBHAG METHOD: break them into its vibhags
Vibhag 1: tā - - ke
Vibhag 2: tā ghe ghe -
Learn them independently and fuse them together.

For more detail, please read: http://kksongs.org/khol/chapters/less...

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...