Ib Nørholm, Symphony No 1, Op 10 (1958)




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on May 10, 2019

Ib Nørholm, Symphony No. 1, Op. 10 (1958)

1. Allegro (12:11)
2. Adagio meditative (8:55)
3. Allegro aperto (8:35)

Odense Symphony Orchestra
Edward Serov, conductor

Ib Nørholm (born 24 January 1931 in Søborg, Gladsaxe Municipality) is a Danish composer and organist.
Nørholm studied with Vagn Holmboe at the Royal Danish Academy of Music, where he later taught (from 1973), becoming a professor in 1981. Among the honours Nørholm has received are the Gaudeamus International Composers Award in 1964, the Carl Nielsen Prize in 1971 and a knighthood in 1981.

Initially, Nørholm's music was very much in the tradition of Carl Nielsen, as exemplified by his first symphony (1956-8). In the 1960s, however, Nørholm began to explore the possibilities of serialism and graphic scores, having been deeply impressed by his experiences of the music of Karlheinz Stockhausen, Pierre Boulez, and others at the ISCM in Cologne. Later still his music took on a more economical approach, often characterised by the term 'new simplicity'.

Compositions by Nørholm include the opera The Young Park (1969–70), Symphony No. 3 (1973), sonatas for accordion (1967) and guitar (1976), Idylles d'Apocalypse for organ and orchestra (1980), Symphony No. 5 'The Elements' (1980), Immanence for solo flute (1983), Aspects of Sand and Simplicity for string orchestra (1987), a symphonic fantasy Hearing Andersen (1987), and the choral work Sjaelfuld Sommer (1997). The opera Invitation til Skafottet ("Invitation to a Beheading") (1965) was commissioned by the Danish Broadcasting Corporation. In all Nørholm has written twelve symphonies. His second symphony, commissioned by the Danish National Symphony Orchestra is subtitled Isola Bella, and the fourth symphony is subtitled Moderskabelsen ("Mother Creation"). The première of his twelfth symphony, Virkeligheder on texts by Thorkild Bjørnvig, Lene Henningsen and Inger Christensen, took place in Odense on April 28, 2011.

In addition to his activities as a composer, Nørholm is a prolific music critic and choral conductor.

The music on my channel is meant to introduce a large audience to music by unknown classical composers and unknown classical music by famous composers in the music period of about 1870 till about 1970.
The program presents works by relatively unknown composers and unknown music by well-known composers and has no commercial purposes.
Tens of thousands of people around the world learn about unknown music through our channel (educational task) and unite the people from the many countries who give their comments and reactions. If someone, for any reason, would deem that a video appearing in this channel violates the copyright, please inform us immediately before you submit a claim to YouTube, and it will be our care to remove immediately the video accordingly.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...