This video is unavailable.

Pines Of Rome - The Appian Way (4/4)

Like this video?

Sign in to make your opinion count.

Don't like this video?

Sign in to make your opinion count.

Want to watch this again later?

Sign in to add this video to a playlist.

Uploaded on Aug 19, 2011

Pines of Rome (In Italian: Pini di Roma) is a symphonic poem written in 1924 by the Italian composer Ottorino Respighi and, together with Fontane di Roma and Feste Romane, forms what is sometimes loosely referred to as his "Roman trilogy". Each movement depicts the pine trees in different locations in Rome at different times of day.

The first performance was given under conductor Bernardino Molinari in the Augusteo, Rome, on December 14, 1924.


1.) "I pini di Villa Borghese" (The Pines of the Villa Borghese)
2.) "Pini presso una catacomba" (Pines near a catacomb)
3.) "I pini del Gianicolo" (The Pines of the Janiculum)
4.) "I pini della Via Appia" (The Pines of the Appian Way)

These are the best recordings of Pines of Rome I could find. I recently noticed that these videos were taken down a while ago which is a shame. That is why I am re-uploading them.

***I am still trying to find the second movement, but I can't at the moment. It may be forever lost, unless someone has it downloaded. If so, please post it as a video response to any of my Pines of Rome videos.***

In case anyone is wondering, this piece is being performed by the Radio Sinfonie Orchester Stuttgart SWR, conducted by Georges Prêtre.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License





Ratings have been disabled for this video.
Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.


to add this to Watch Later

Add to