Uploaded on Oct 19, 2007
Simply the worst blown call in football this year if not in football history. These ref's should never work another college football game again. NCAA rules state that even if a player makes an invalid signal, he still cannot advance the ball once he caught it.
Officials determined that the play was not reviewable.
The performance of the officiating crew in this game, however, is. And the Big East's commitment to dealing with these kinds of game-turning mistakes also is.
More to come. This botched call doesn't let U of L off the hook for the loss. It doesn't prevent questions about how what was the most potent offense in college football suddenly has ground to a halt.
What it means tonight is that there were two losers in this football game -- U of L and the Big East Conference.
And both have some major questions to answer.
Now, for your reading pleasure, the NCAA rule (italics mine) . . .
SECTION 7. Fair Catch
a. A fair catch of a scrimmage kick is a catch beyond the
neutral zone by a player of Team B who has made a valid signal during a
scrimmage kick that is untouched beyond the neutral zone.
b. A fair catch of a free kick is a catch by a player of Team B who has made
a valid signal during an untouched free kick.
c. A valid or invalid fair catch signal deprives the receiving team of the
opportunity to advance the ball, and the ball is declared dead at the spot
of the catch or recovery or at the spot of the signal if the catch precedes
the signal (Rule 6-5-1-a Exception).
d. If the receiver shades his eyes from the sun, the ball is live and may be
ARTICLE 2. A valid signal is a signal given by a player of Team B who
has obviously signalled his intention by extending one hand only clearly
above his head and waving that hand from side to side of his body more
ARTICLE 3. An invalid signal is any signal by a player of Team B that does
not meet the requirements of a valid signal (Rule 6-5-3).
Standard YouTube License