Upload

Loading icon Loading...

This video is unavailable.

2012 IBA BOX PRO - Round 2 and 3 Highlights

Sign in to YouTube

Sign in with your Google Account (YouTube, Google+, Gmail, Orkut, Picasa, or Chrome) to like IBA World Tour's video.

Sign in to YouTube

Sign in with your Google Account (YouTube, Google+, Gmail, Orkut, Picasa, or Chrome) to dislike IBA World Tour's video.

Sign in to YouTube

Sign in with your Google Account (YouTube, Google+, Gmail, Orkut, Picasa, or Chrome) to add IBA World Tour's video to your playlist.

Published on Mar 29, 2012

MUSIC // Edseven 'Too Much Talk'

IBA 2012 Box Pro

Event 2 of 8, Mens Grand Slam Series

The Box, Margaret River, Western Australia

March 26 - April 4

ibaworldtour.com

The Box, Western Australia (Thursday, 29th Mach 2012) Round 2 and 3 of the 2012 IBA Box Pro ran to completion in barreling 2-3 meter waves. With brisk offshore winds in the early morning, riders took advantage of the clean barrels over the shallow reef. Only the last three of todays 12 heats experienced light onshore winds, making it ideal for big arial manouvres.
South Africa's Mark McCarthy was a man on fire today, scoring an impressive 18.55 heat total by picking off the biigger sets and driving through two unbelievably deep barrels. Only catching four waves in in his Round 3 heat, all of which scored higher than 7.75 out of 10, McCarthy would have won any heat of the day, using any two of his scores as counting waves.
Jared Houston's Round 3 performance had his fellow competitors and spectators on the edge of their seats, with what people are calling the biggest air of the event. Houston made his intentions clear, drawing a clean line off the bottom, hitting the end-bowl and taking to the sky with a massive full body invert, but just coming unstuck on the landing.
Other heat winners included local boys, Ryan Hardy (AUS/Margaret River), 17 year old Lewy Finnegan (AUS/Mandurah) and East Coasters Andrew Lester (AUS/Cronulla), Ben Player (AUS/Avalon) and Michael Novy (AUS/Copacabana) who will join the remaining final 16 riders in the "Non Elimination" Round 4, scheduled for a possible start at 7:30 am tomorrow. With nobody getting knocked out of the event in this round, riders will be going all out, knowing they have nothing to loose.
If you missed out on last years Box Pro, thanks to iinet check out the 2011 Box Pro Documentary and the crazy conditions the riders had to tackle.

Event organisers are looking are calling a 7am check in for the "Non Elimination" Round 4 expected to be an action packed as the top 16 take advantage of the rampy conditions.
Caracas: 21H00 (29th March)
Cape Town: 02h00
Honolulu: 14h00 (29th March)
London: 01h00
Los Angeles: 17h00 (29th March)
Lisbon: 01h00
Madrid: 02h00
New York: 20h00 (29th March)
Rio de Janeiro: 21h00 (29th March)
Sydney: 11h00

  • Category

  • License

    Standard YouTube License

Loading icon Loading...

Loading icon Loading...

Loading icon Loading...

Loading icon Loading...

Ratings have been disabled for this video.
Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.

Loading icon Loading...

Advertisement
Loading...
Working...
to add this to Watch Later

Add to