Upload
2,692

Subscription preferences

Loading...

Loading icon Loading...

Working...

Risk Bites

What has the maker movement got to do with public health?

1,100 views 3 days ago
http://youtube.com/riskbites
Associated web content: http://www.riskscience.umic...

What has the maker movement got to do with public health? Everything! Risk Bites explores the importance of connecting individual creativity with designers, health professionals and technology geeks to help solve some of the greatest public health risks of our time.
If you’re in the Ann Arbor area and want to know more, come to the We Make Health Fest, Saturday August 16th, 10 AM – 4 PM: http://makehealth.us/

And please do join the conversation in the comments below.

Risk Bites is supported by:
University of Michigan Risk Science Center. http://riskscience.umich.edu
University of Michigan School of Public Health. http://www.sph.umich.edu/

Backing track: Based on Blue and Green by Rimsky. http://www.premiumbeat.com/...


FURTHER INFORMATION AND READING

General
We Make Health Fest, August 16th, Ann Arbor MI: http://makehealth.us/
White House Maker Faire: http://www.whitehouse.gov/m...
Maker Culture: http://en.wikipedia.org/wik...
World Economic Forum Global Risks report: http://www.weforum.org/issu...

Sanitation
Open Defecation (please read): http://opendefecation.org/
UN Millenium Goals: http://www.un.org/millenniu...
The Big Necessity: The Unmentionable World of Human Waste and Why It Matters (Rose George): http://rosegeorge.com/site/...

Sedentary behavior
Physical inactivity a leading cause of disease and disability, warns WHO: http://www.who.int/mediacen...
Sedentary Behavior: Emerging Evidence for a New Health Risk. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. http://dx.doi.org/10.4065/m...

Eating smart
Columbia University: Obesity Kills More Americans Than Previously Thought: http://www.mailman.columbia...
USDA Choose My Plate http://www.choosemyplate.gov/
Urban farming: http://www.urbanfarming.org/
Momentum Center, University of Michigan: http://momentumcenter.org/

Pollution
WHO: 7 million premature deaths annually linked to air pollution http://www.who.int/mediacen...
Portable sensor lets users monitor air pollution on their smartphone (Gizmag): http://www.gizmag.com/citis...
Researchers develop smartphone-based air quality tool for public health (mobihealthnews): http://mobihealthnews.com/3...

Antimicrobial resistance
WHO, Antimicrobial resistance: http://www.who.int/mediacen...
CDC Threat Report 2013 on antimicrobial resistance: http://www.cdc.gov/drugresi...
European Food Safety Authority – Antimicrobial resistance: http://www.efsa.europa.eu/e... Show less
Read more

Are Advanced Materials Safe? Play

A seven-part series of short videos on the opportunities and challenges presented by advanced materials - including engineered nanomaterials.

1. A Brief History of Materials

2. Designer materials and 20th Century Innovation

3. Advanced Designer Materials

4. Are Advanced Materials Safe?

5. What makes an Advanced Material Harmfiul?

6. Novel Behavior and Novel Risk

7. Advanced Materials, and Safety by Design

Risk and feelings Play

How do you feel about risk? How does familiarity change this? And what dread - and how does it affect how we handle risk? University of Michigan's Brian Zikmund-Fisher talks about risk and feelings.
Loading...
Working...
to add this to Watch Later

Add to